Elder Care Specialist (ECS)

History of the Elder Care Specialist (ECS) designation

The Accredation Council for Accountancy and Taxation (ACAT) developed and administered the ECS designation until about 2014.  After 2014, there is no longer any mention of the ECS credential on the ACAT website, so apparently it was discontinued.

When a professional designation is discontinued like this, you no longer have to pay renewal fees or take required CPE courses.   

The historical CPE requirements from ACAT were that an ECS:

All FunCPE courses are acceptable for Elder Care Specialists CPE credit, although there appear to be no CPE requirements from 2014 onward.


Rules and requirements for ACAT credential holders (such as Elder Care Specialists):

Programs that qualify as CPE

The overriding consideration in determining whether a specific program qualifies as acceptable continuing education is that it be a formal program of learning which contributes directly to the professional competence of an accredited individual. The following are deemed acceptable:

In order for an educational program to qualify for CPE credit, organizations must:

Continuing education credit will be given for whole hours only, with a minimum of 50 minutes constituting the class hour.

Can I use self-study and journals for my contact hours?

Independent study that is approved for continuing education credits may be used for 100% of the hours required for certification renewal.

Do CPE programs need to be approved or accredited by a national organization?


I already submit CPE for my CPA (or EA, CFP, etc.) designation. Can I use these for my ACAT credentials?

Yes. As long as you have taken the appropriate number of CPE hours in the specified areas, then you may also submit them to ACAT.

We welcome Elder Care Specialists to our site and would like to serve your needs better. Please contact us with any suggestions for new course topics for Elder Care Specialist CPE specifically.