Certified Fraud Specialist (CFS)

Credential issued and maintained by

Association of Certified Fraud Specialists (ACFS)

Continuing education requirements for CFS

24 hours total of continuing professional education annually

16 hours must be fraud related

CPE subjects accepted

Courses should be profession related


Annual on anniversary  date

Application fee: $250

Annual renewal: $150

FunCPE courses are accepted for CFS

FunCPE fraud courses (found in the Accounting and Auditing category) meet the 16-hour requirement for CPE that relates directly to the detection and deterrence of fraud.

The 8 hour balance of the annual CPE requirement should be profession related, so selection of these hours will vary by student.

Self-study CPE courses are accepted.

We welcome Certified Fraud Specialists to our site and would like to serve your needs better.

Please contact us with any suggestions for new course topics for Certified Fraud Specialist CPE specifically.

About the Association of Certified Fraud Specialists

CFS professionals are accredited by the Association of Certified Fraud Specialists (ACFS) which is a non-profit association headquartered in Sacramento, CA.

The Association was established in 1993 to provide educational and networking opportunities to

  • law enforcement (sworn or non-sworn),
  • attorneys (prosecution and defense),
  • public and private sector investigators,
  • loss prevention/security professionals,
  • internal and external auditors,
  • public accountants,
  • forensic accountants
  • government investigators,
  • educators and
  • other risk management professionals.

How to become a Certified Fraud Specialist

The ACFS provides two ways of becoming a CFS:

  1. A grandfathering provision which allows anti-fraud professionals with more than 8 years of experience to become certified without taking the written exam.
  2. A written exam designed to certify less experienced fraud professionals.

You must be a member of ACFS in order to become certified.