Certified Valuation Analyst (CVA)

Certification issued and maintained by

National Association of Certified Valuators and Analysts  (NACVA)

CPE programs should relate to:

  • business valuation,
  • financial litigation,
  • financial forensics,
  • forensic accounting,
  • financial statement analysis,
  • gift and estate planning,
  • professional standards,
  • exit planning,
  • accounting,
  • economics,
  • tax,
  • audit,
  • M & A,
  • fraud,
  • transaction advisory services,
  • healthcare valuation, and
  • ethics. 

Courses must be completed in each three-year period, based on your initial license date.

All CPE cycles end on December 31st of the third year of your renewal period and December 31st is the renewal due date as well.

All FunCPE Accounting, Tax and Ethics courses qualify for CPE credit.

CVAs in every state can receive credit for our courses.

FunCPE Management courses are the only courses that do not meet the subject matter requirement.

We welcome Certified Valuation Analysts to our site and would like to serve your needs better. Please contact us with any suggestions for new course topics for Certified Valuation Analyst CPE specifically.

Rules and requirements for CVA credential holders (Per the NACVA website):

Programs that qualify as CPE

NACVA has not defined specific approved courses, but any course or conference covering approved subjects would qualify.

NACVA credential holders only need to attest to having completed 60 hours of “Applicable” CPE credits to comply with tri-annual recertification, and pay the applicable recertification fee.

Reporting courses taken and CPE hours earned is optional, though we recommend you track this information in your personal records.

CVA Certification

Individuals qualified to earn the CVA are CPAs or individuals with business degrees that work in a variety of business settings, in the U.S. and internationally. CVAs use
established standards to estimate the economic value of businesses for purposes related to:

  • business purchases and sales,
  • disputes related to divorce litigation,
  • taxes,
  • partners’ ownership interests, 
  • contested estates, and
  • other purposes.

Obtaining the CVA credential

CVAs must either have an active CPA license or hold a business degree and/or MBA or higher business degree from an accredited college or university and demonstrate substantial business valuation experience, among other requirements.

In addition to passing a comprehensive five-hour, multiple-choice, proctored exam, non-CPA CVA applicants must also demonstrate that they meet NACVA’s experience requirements.

Merger of Accredited Valuation Analyst (AVA) and Certified Valuation Analyst (CVA)

In 2013 the National Association of Certified Valuators announced that the AVA would be merged into the CVA designation.  After a transition period which ended March 31, 2014, professionals can only use the CVA designation.

The merger occurred because the two designations indicated essentially the same qualifications.  Originally, the CVA was available only to CPAs, while the AVA was for non-CPAs. AVAs had to prove two years of experience in business valuation or areas related to business valuation.